30 Days Wild Pan-species Challenge: Day 23 and 24

Well, I did get my pan-species lifer yesterday, but I didn’t have time to blog about it. Have I failed my challenge? I think I’ve at least done enough to warrant carrying on.

Anyway, here’s yesterday’s lifer, a Rustic Shoulder-knot from the garden moth trap.

20170624_162551 (1).jpg

Rustic Shoulder-knot

And today, whilst volunteering at RSPB Bempton Cliffs, I went to check out the Northern Marsh-orchids and I found this specimen which is literally days in not hours away from going over completely!

P1240382.JPG

Northern Marsh-orchid

I got that lifer by the skin of my teeth.

p1240383.jpg

Common Spotted x Northern Marsh-orchid?

I also saw this, which I think looks like Common Spotted x Northern Marsh, all of the orchids I saw on site resembled this bar the pure Northern Marsh mentioned earlier. It seemed darker than the photo shows but it could just be a very, very well-marked Common Spotted. I have indeed noticed that the strength of the spots on Common Spotted-orchids varies from site to site. Common Spotted x Northern Marsh has been seen on this site previously.

Leave a Reply

